Tuesday, 2. November 2010
maven-ooo-plugin-it or "How to create a GIT project"
This article has two goals:
  • to report some news about the new maven-ooo-plugin-it project
  • to give a short introduction how to start a project with a local GIT repository and push it later to github

Local GIT Repository Created

Yesterday I decided to start my own integration test project for the maven-ooo-plugin. Here are the steps to create a GIT repository for this project (GIT must be installed):
  1. create the project directory (mkdir maven-ooo-plugin-it)
  2. change to this directory (cd maven-ooo-plugin-it)
  3. create local GIT repository (git init)
The other steps I did with Eclipse: I created a new project with the maven-ooo-plugin-it directory as new location and started the development. Later I called "Team > Share Project..." to connect the project to the local GIT repository and to commit my new files.

Pushed to GITHUB

Today I wanted to push this project to github. If you log and follow the Dashboard link you find a New Repository button which I used to create the maven-ooo-plugin-it repository on github. Now I got a list of steps which I followed:
  1. cd cd maven-ooo-plugin-it
  2. git remote add origin git@github.com:oboehm/maven-ooo-plugin-it.git
  3. git push origin master
That's all.

... comment